student.union@newcastle.ac.uk

Get involved with Student Media

The Courier Newspaper

Overseen by our sabbatical officer, the Editor of the Courier, our student writers and editors produce our weekly 40-page newspaper and maintain the website. Anyone who is a student at Newcastle University can write for the Courier. Whether you want to review your favourite film, comment on worldwide issues, update students about what’s happening on campus or hold your university to account with some investigative journalism, there’s space in the Courier for everyone’s voice to be heard. The Courier has been numerous awards over the years - most notably, Student Publication of the Year in the Guardian Media Awards. 

You don’t need any prior experience to be part of the Courier, just turn up to one of our meetings, follow our social media channels (which can be found below) or contact us to find out more about how you can get involved.


View WebsiteBecome a WriterFollow us

 

NSR: Newcastle Student Radio

NSR, Newcastle Student Radio, is an award-winning radio station run by students, for students. First on-air all the way back in 1997, NSR runs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Manned entirely by students shows range from specialist music to comedy to sport and news. With an eclectic mix of music, entertainment, sport, and news programmes it is students that determine what NSR looks and sounds like when providing the essential service to the university.

While providing over 30 hours of varsity Stan Calvert coverage, 6 Live student election debates, boxing coverage in the form of “Fight Night”, concerts, interviews with some of the country’s biggest performers, live sets performed in or very own studio, investigative journalism, specialist DJ sets and more, the opportunities and coverage provided at the station go far beyond the regular timetable.

With flagship breakfast, lunchtime, and drivetime show providing continuity throughout your hectic weeks, the station is dedicated to providing the best content, and opportunities, to students.

Listen LiveJoin the TeamFollow us

 

 

NUTV: Newcastle University TV

NUTV is NUSU Media’s high-action and fast-paced television branch. Founded in 2010, the youngest of the three branches has certainly taken leaps and bounds in progress, committing itself to produce both on-demand and live broadcasts throughout the academic year. NUTV aims to be a platform to allow as many students as possible, regardless of their academic or personal background, the chance to experience the world of TV production.

We produce content covering current affairs, entertainment, music, student talent and lifestyle, sports, and more! Have an idea for a brand new show? Come and make that show a reality, as we’re always looking for new show concepts! NUTV also aims to help bridge connections into the industry for anyone looking to pursue a media career. We are a NaSTA affiliated station, allowing us access to the workshops and industry trips the Association runs throughout the year, including the annual conference at Easter.

We also have local connections with the Royal Television Society and individuals who have worked with local and national TV broadcasting studios. Whether you want to present in front of the camera, direct and produce from behind the scenes, flex your editing muscles, or write and develop ideas, check out NUTV.

Watch VideosJoin the TeamFollow us

Become a Writer

News
courier.news@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Comment
courier.comment@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Sport
courier.sport@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Lifestyle
c2.lifestyle@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Food
Facebook Group

Fashion
c2.fashion@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Beauty
courier.beauty@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Travel
courier.travel@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Arts
c2.arts@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Televison
c2.tv@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Film
c2.film@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Gaming
courier.gaming@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Music
c2.music@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group

Science
c2.science@newcastle.ac.uk
Facebook Group