Conservative news

Tory 2020/2021 Committee Elected

A new Committee has been elected following an Anual General Meeting of our Society. The results of this election are:
Christopher Winter as President
Elias Al Dahan as Treasurer
Jennifer Mills as General Secretary
Will Hayes as Chairman
Elliot Kirkpatrick as Welfare Officer
Olly Scargill as Local Party Representative
Nick Sundin as Postgraduate Officer
Stephen Dawes as Union Whip

NUSU elections successful despite virus

Despite the closure of campus midway through, NUSU elections have been successful. As usual our political wing has been active in this process, for the first time however, the 1963 Committee asked candidates to stand directly rather than simply supporting those that do. This is part of a broader policy shift towards a party style ethos of standing a candidate in every election regardless of the chances of success.

2019 Ends - Conservative Society

As our first semester comes to an end we do hope that all of you reading have had a good and pleasant term here at Newcastle and that NUCS has had a positive role in said time. It is now the season where we should look to hold friends and family close and the committee would like to wish you all a very merry Christmas and a happy new year. We hope that our humble society might have allowed you to form such friendships over your time here and we look forward to seeing you again in the next term.

Pint and Policy Provides Unlikely Debate Motions

This year’s inaugural pint and policy freshers' mixer has provided the society with a number of avenues to explore regarding nationalisation of public services, Arming the police, the death penalty and the governments new proposed deal with the EU.

Conservatives at Freshers' Fair

Join NUCS at Freshers' Fair 2019 in Venue this Monday 23rd of September and Tuesday 24th September from 10-4. Speak to our committee members, sign up to our communications and Join our society. If for any reason you cannot make it to the fair please don't hesitate to reach out to us for information on joining. Find us on the 3rd of October for our first social of the year.

Summer dinner roaring success

With guests coming from York, Sheffield, Durham, Northumberland and Northumbria University an amazing evening was had by all. Port and wine flowed and songs were sung in the Northern Counties Private members club as the society and its honoured friends sat down to a luxurious three course meal.
Speeches, laughter and toasts echoed off the walls as did the national anthem. All were agreed that the evening was a roaring success- a fitting joint effort of the outgoing committee and the incoming.

Tory 2019/2020 Committee Elected
Picture of the committee

Following our AGM amendments to the constitution have been made and a new committee has been elected. This will be made public on Facebook once the process has been completed and accepted by the SU. Your new committee officers for 2019/20 are as follows:

President: Stephen Dawes
Secretary: Jason Birt
Treasurer: Jamie Hampton
Committee Officer: Christopher Winter
Welfare Officer: Luigi Murton
Social Secretary: Dewi Roberts
International Officer: Alex Cantave
Alumni Officer: Jason Carr