Student Council Results!

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.
Welcome Back NUSU Council!

The First Council of 2017/18 got off to an energetic start. A huge welcome back to members and a big hello to all new members. Our new Chair Errol Kerr got off to a great start and had his work cut out with the many elections held, for voting and committee places.

Motions passed document.

“Repeat Motion at Student Council” failed to reach the 2/3rd majority and means that the motion to stop a motion coming back to Council can be submitted again to a future Council…..Confused? Me too.

“The Election of a vacant PTO position” passed meaning that if the March elections fail to elect a PTO position, NUSU can now hold an less formal election before the end of summer term to fill vacant positions. This gives us the flexibility to ensure a full team of Part Time Officers at the start of the year. 

The meeting ends with an open debate and Ronnie Reid, SU President, introduced the first of the year.

“Dr King’s mural on Luther’s, inappropriate or a fitting gesture to a great man?”

Council had mixed opinions on the name of the SU bar. It was suggested that something permanent be put up in Luther’s to explain the journey of the renaming of the bar.  We would love to hear your thoughts.  

We also held a number of elections for NUSU committees including for 8 open places on Student Council. The successful candidates in these elections are as follows:

Student Council 8 Open Places

  • Amelia Webb
  • Chloe Novak
  • Elena Douglas
  • Jack Green
  • Jonathan Hall
  • Renee Mayer
  • Siobhan Waddell
  • Zane Barry Youssef

NUSU Finance Committee

  • Alice Schonenberger-Ruzzier
  • Jacob Sleibi

Ethics and Environment Representative

  • Andrew Stark

NUSU Campaigns Representative

  • Ciara Ritson-Courtney

NUSU Disciplinary Committee

  • Dean Geddis
  • Elena Douglas
  • Konstantinos Valtetsiofis
  • Lucy Kershaw
  • Zane Youssef

NUSU Education Executive Committee

  • Jonathan Hall
  • Kelly South
  • Liam McCullion
  • Rachel Binks

NUSU Scrutiny Committee

  • Addy Cyrus
  • Elena Douglas
  • Harry Parsons
  • Laura Staniforth

Student Council Steering Committee

  • Lucy Kershaw
  • Tom Lowe

NUSU Welfare and Campaigns Executive

  • Amelia Webb
  • Elena Douglas
  • Ernest Adu-Gyamfi
  • Jack Green
  • Jennifer Layden
  • Marike Ruther
  • Martha King
  • Sophie McDermott

Recap is available. Please get in touch if you would like a copy. Alternatively you can watch NUTV's recording of the meeting.

Future Council dates.


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.

Latest News

What is Council? What is to be done?

A few musings from your Chair of Council on reflections so far and ideas moving forward for Student Council.

March Council Round-Up

A breakdown of all the motions that were passed at March's meeting of NUSU Student Council!

Extraordinary General Meeting Agenda

Check out the agenda for the upcoming Extraordinary General Meeting being held a month on from the AGM.

Was love in the air during Valentine’s Council?

Find out what happened at February's meeting of NUSU Student Council

The AGM Agenda

Check out the agenda for the upcoming Annual General Meeting held prior to the first Student Council of the year.