Student Rep Award Nominees Revealed

We are delighted to announce who has been nominated for the 2021 Student Rep Awards!

Student Rep Award / Celebrating Success Logo Thank you to everyone who nominated!

This year we received a record breaking 148 nomination for the Student Rep Awards demonstrating in these challenging times, how much you value your student representatives and the opportunity to have your voice heard.

We are delighted to announce the nominees for the 2021 NUSU Student Rep Awards are:

Course Rep UG of the Year

  • Charlotte Airey (Politics)
  • Ikram Akintomide (Law)
  • Bethany Armitt-Brewster (Politics & History)
  • Katharine Beavers (Film Practices)
  • Alisha Burnby (Modern Languages)
  • Mikayla Butler (Biomedical Sciences)
  • Grace Cook (English Literature with Creative Writing)
  • Dom Corr (Civil Engineering)
  • Sam Dolling (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Vicky Dormand (Chemical Engineering with Placement Year)
  • Isac Fiorotti (Electrical & Electronic Engineering)
  • Becky Gatenby (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Nilsu Almina Haddat (International Business Management (London))
  • Izzy Hollingdale (Modern Languages)
  • Beker Khalid (Master of Pharmacy with Honours)
  • Amy Li (MB BS)
  • Rob Mitchell (Economics)
  • Holly Murphy (Dental Surgery)
  • Yazan Musleh (Electrical Power Engineering)
  • Kaushik Mysore (Maths & Stats)
  • Cherie Ong (Electrical Power Engineering (Singapore))
  • Martina Valentini (Combined Honours)
  • Ali Zuhad (Business Management)


Course Rep PG of the Year

  • Jasmine Ekinci (Translational and Clinical Research)
  • Imogen Milne (Physician Associate Studies)
  • Juan Portillo Ramírez (Landscape Architecture Studies)
  • Franciszka Siwek (Drug Chemistry)


Student Secretary of the Year

  • Katie Eaton (Psychology UG)
  • Caitlin Hamilton (Leadership, Work and Organisation PGT)
  • Imogen Milne (Physician Associates)
  • Mirren Wilson (Combined Honours)


Student Chair of the Year

  • Rahaf Almazmome (Applied Linguistics and TESOL)
  • Tom Altena (Leadership, Work and Organisation PGT)
  • Bethany Armitt-Brewster (History, Classics and Archaeology UG)
  • Ellen Bishall (Modern Languages PG)
  • Joshua Caroline (Combined Honours)
  • Hannah Chalmers (Modern Languages UG)
  • Alastair Gibson (Flexible Stage 1 Engineering)
  • Eleasha Haslam and Jenni Boddy (Geography UG)
  • Kiran Jones (Dental Sciences Phase II)
  • Yasmine Khalifa (Marketing & Management UG)
  • Tammy Lee (Marketing and Management UG)
  • Amy Li (MB BS Stage 5)
  • Jayne Milburn (Law)
  • Haaris Qureshi (NUSU Chair of Scrutiny)
  • Kristina Todorova (London UG)
  • Maud Webster (Planning)


EDI or E&S Rep of the Year

  • Luke Carey (EDI Rep – Music)
  • Ana Christina Guirola Carias De Newell (EDI Rep – Pharmacy)
  • Melda Kelemcisoy (E&S Rep – International Business Management)
  • Khaleel Shazada (EDI Rep – Dental Sciences)


School Rep UG of the Year

  • Narzatul Najihah Binti Nizalman (School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Sciences)
  • Joseph Caddick (School of English Literature, Language and Linguistics)
  • Ethan Graham (School of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics)
  • Jayne Milburn (Newcastle Law School)
  • Holly Murphy (School of Dental Sciences)
  • Avneet Sandhu (School of Psychology)
  • Lyubov Vlasheva (Newcastle University Business School)
  • Tom Wellesley (School of Arts and Cultures)
  • James Woods (Combined Honours)
  • Zixiao Yuan (School of Engineering)


School Rep PG of the Year

  • Adam Skeen (School of Medical Education (PGT))
  • Smruthi Venkat (School of Education, Communication and Language Sciences (PGT))
  • Nicola Wade and Nathan Nagar (School of Dental Sciences (PGT))
  • Ashley Wilkins (School of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics (PGR))


Student-Staff Committee of the Year

  • Combined Honours Student-Staff Committee
  • Flexible Stage 1 Engineering Student Voice Committee
  • Geography UG Student Voice Committee


Campaign of the Year

  • Decolonising NCL
  • Make Misogyny Hate by IHH
  • Pride Inside


Liberation Officer of the Year

  • Ben Campbell (LGBT+ Officer)
  • Sohum Pandya (BAME Officer)
  • Ali Zuhad & Hussnain Shahid (International Students Officer)


Changemaker of the Year

  • BAME Union (NUSU)
  • Changemakers (Dental Sciences)
  • Haaris Qureshi (NUSU Chair of Scrutiny)
  • Omolayo Soruna (FMS Graduate School / NUSU Inclusive Buddy)


We will also award a very special Staff Facilitator who has supported student representation in their academic unit for a number of years.

The virtual awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday 5 May from 6pm. All nominees will be invited to attend and everyone else can watch live or at a later date through NUTV’s coverage.