Student Rep Awards - Winners

The winners at the Student Rep Awards A great night was had by all

On Monday 13 May 2019, NUSU celebrated the amazing achievements of student representatives and the staff who support student representation at the annual Student Rep Awards.


The Student Rep Awards are part of NUSU’s Celebrating Success Awards Scheme and are designed to recognise the brilliant work of Academic Reps and the staff who support them, Community Reps, Hall Reps, NUSU Part-time Officers and students who have campaigned for a better University experience for its students.


With 107 nominations received from students and University and NUSU staff, the competition was always fierce. However, we are now delighted to be able to reveal that the winner and runner-up for each category is as follows:


Course Rep (UG) of the Year

Winner: Holly Murphy (Dental Sciences)

Runner up: Ben Tattersall (Geography and Planning UG)


Course Rep (PG) of the Year

Winner: Sophie Ferguson (Law PGT)

Runner up: Maru Carbajles (International Marketing PGT)


Student Secretary of the Year

Winner: James Woods (Combined Honours UG)

Runner up: Isaac Moore (Pharmacy UG)


Student Chair of the Year

Winner: Natalie Garner (Combined Honours UG)

Runner up: Lawrence Quirk (Dental Surgery UG)


School Rep (UG) of the Year

Winner: Matthew Harper (Dental Sciences UG)

Runner up: Amy Ingle (Architecture, Planning & Landscape)


School Rep (PG) of the Year

Winner: Scott Steele (Law PGT)

Runner up: Adam Azzi (Cellular and Molecular Biology PGR)


Staff Facilitator:

Winner: Ruth Furlonger (Combined Honours)

Runner up: Luisa Wakeling (Dental Sciences)


Student-Staff Committee of the Year

Winner: Planning Student Voice Committee

Runner up: Business PGR Student Voice Committee


Hall Rep of the Year:

Winner: Rachel Martin (Park View Student Village)

Runner up: Louise Koranteng (St Mary’s)


Community Rep of the Year Award:

Winner: Meg Keates (City and West)

Runner up: Aleisha Stansfield (City and West)


Campaign of the Year:

Winner: “I need your knickers!” (Maddie Baugh and the It Happens Here Society)

Runner up: Fossil Free (Rebecca D’Andrea)


The Daniel Wood PTO of the Year Award:

Winner: Charlotte Boulton (Marginalised Genders Officers)

Runner up: Chris Wilkinson (Racial Equality Officer)


On the night, we also had three amazing student keynote speakers; Mathew Harper, Dianne Odede and Charlotte Boulton. A big thank you to the three of them from all at NUSU for their inspiring and engaging talks!


Huge congratulations to all the runners-up and winners and a big thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate. If you would like to watch the ceremony, check out NUTV’s brilliant live stream. You can also see all the photos from the ceremony here.



Other News

E-portfolio Survey
Computer on a desk

Looking for a little procrastination?

Leave Newcastle Happy

Make sure you get rid of your rubbish and unwanted items responsibly.

What happened at the last Student Council of 2018/19

A Council that will not soon be forgotten!

Your Commuting Students' Officer is........

Thank you to everyone who voted for your first ever Commuting Students' Officer

Indicatively Vote on the Council Motions

Even if you can't attend Student Council, you can indicatively vote on the motions, so that those who are voting at the meeting have a sense of how you would like the vote to go.

Student Rep Awards - Winners
The winners at the Student Rep Awards

Find out who picked up the prizes at the 2019 Student Rep Awards.