TEAs Shortlist Announced

Teaching Excellence Awards Logo against a yellow background Find out who's in the running for this year's TEAs.

The NUSU Teaching Excellence Awards (TEAs) is a student-led scheme aimed at recognising Newcastle University’s brilliant staff for their commitment to your learning, on-going support and contribution to your University experience. This year there have been eight categories, ranging from pastoral support to outstanding feedback, with each category is designed to encompass all aspects of university life and how our members of staff can make a difference to your time at Newcastle.

This year we saw an increase in the number of nominations submitted to over 400; this is a huge achievement as we can see the profound affect Newcastle University staff have on their students. Having now reached the end of the nomination period we have been in the shortlisting phase where we have broken down the nominations in each category to the final few. The nominations this year have been outstanding and of truly high quality, demonstrating the commitment and continuous high standards of Newcastle University staff.

Your NUSU Education Officer, Rowan South, and a selected group of School Reps were tasked with shortlisting these nominations and it has proved a difficult job to choose from so many high quality nominations. Having spoken to Rowan about this he said “If we could we would give every nominee a TEA as each one is deserving of an award, we have been so impressed by the nominations this year and the ceremony is set to be a really great one.”

The 2018 NUSU TEAs shortlist is:


Outstanding Contribution to Teaching – FMS Faculty

Dr Richard Holmes – School of Dental Sciences

Professor Stephen McHanwell – School of Medical Education

Dr Sinead Mullally – Institute of Neuroscience


Outstanding Contribution to Teaching – SAGE Faculty

Dr Emmi Hall – School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Dr Kyle Montague – School of Computing

Dr Rajesh Tiwari – School of Engineering


Outstanding Contribution to Teaching – HASS Faculty

Dr Saurabh Bhattacharya – Business School

Dr Robin Humphrey – School of Geography, Politics and Sociology

Dr David Rose – Philosophical Studies


Outstanding Contribution to Teaching – Global Campuses Faculty

Dr Ong Gimseong – Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia

Dr Imam Shaik – Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia

Dr Steven Tay – Newcastle University in Singapore


Outstanding Contribution to Pastoral Support

Miss Carla Chivers – School of Psychology

Dr Joanna Matthan – School of Medical Education

Miss Justine McGruther – School of Engineering

Mrs Christina Mueller-Stewart – School of Modern Languages


Outstanding Contribution to Feedback

Dr Tom Astley – School of Arts and Cultures

Dr Samuel Austin – School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape

Dr Lisa Foran – Philosophical Studies

Dr Joanna Matthan – School of Medical Education


Taught Supervisor of the Year Category

Dr Mike Althaus – School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Dr Laura Delgaty – School of Medical Education

Dr Ghada Khattab – School of Education, Communication and Language Sciences

Dr Andrew Mellon – School of Medical Education


Research Supervisor of the Year Category

Dr Matthew Leach – School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Dr Gerard O’Brien – Newcastle University in Singapore

Professor David Reay – School of Engineering

Professor Paul Seedhouse – School of Education, Communication and Language Sciences


Outstanding Contribution to Student Employability

Dr Phil Ansell – School of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics

Dr Kamelia Boodhoo – School of Engineering

Mrs Lindsay Johnson – Careers Service

Dr Beth Lawry – School of Biomedical Sciences


Outstanding Contribution to Equality and Diversity in Teaching

Dr Fiona Anderson – School of Arts and Cultures

Ms Fae Hodgson – School of Medical Education

Mrs Ashleigh King – University Corporate Affairs

Dr David Walker- School of Geography, Politics and Sociology


Professional Services Staff Member of the Year
Mr Stephen Bowden – Careers Service

Mr Rob Dixon – School of Engineering

Mr Mark Halpin – Newcastle University IT

Miss Melissa Ware – School of Engineering


A massive congratulations to everyone who has been shortlisted!

Now that we have completed the shortlisting, we are getting on with planning the TEAs ceremony which will take place on 3 May at Newcastle University Students’ Union. This promises to be a brilliant event where students and staff will come together to celebrate the achievements of the shortlisted staff members and the winners. Get checking your emails as if your nomination led to a staff member being shortlisted then you may receive an invite to this prestigious event.

For now, if you want to find out more information about the TEAs, including the photos from last year’s ceremony and our TEAs reports you can head to the full TEAs website: www.nusu.co.uk/tea


Other News

Non-anonymous Marking
Student in a lecture

As non-anonymous marking is introduced, find out how SSCs will have a huge role to play in deciding which assessments are no longer marked anonymously.

Term 1 Community Rep Update
Community Reps and a Councillor

See what projects your Community Reps have been working on during the first term!

My Story!
Yoga at the Celebrating Success Awards

Find out how being a Community Rep helped me become a more active student and well rounded individual.

Term 1 Welfare Campaigns Round-up
The Trans Panel

It has been a busy term!

The Education Awards
The Education Awards Logo

Nominations are now open for The Education Awards (TEAs). So if you know an amazing member of Newcastle University staff who deserves your recognition, then make sure you nominate them today!

NUSU to remain out of NUS
National Union of Students Referendum

The vote was close with 52% voting to remain out of NUS with 48% voting to re-affiliate.