The Winners

Thank you to all 3,047 of you who voted in the NUSU Student Elections. The results are in and we are delighted to announce that your 2021/22 NUSU Officer team below. You also can see the full breakdown of all the Results here.


Sabbatical Officers


Abbie Hutchinson

Activities Officer

Haris Nadeem Bashir

Athletic Union Officer

Fergus Mainland

Education Officer

Livia Scott

Editor of the Courier

George Boatfield

Postgraduate Officer

Eleanor McCarthy

Welfare & Equality Officer

Briana Gordhan


Liberation Officers & Chairs

Chair of Council

Haaris Qureshi

Chair of Scrutiny

Alexander Wang-Evans

BAME Officer

Renee Bennett

Commuting Students'

Metro Kieran

Disability Officer

Amelia Simm

LGBT+ Officer

Ebony Olufunmilayo Osho

Faith or Belief Officer

Shah Yaseen Ali

International Students Officer

Suramya & Zainab

Parents, Guardians & Carers Officer

Katy Eldrett

Thank you!

Congratulations to all the winners –we look forward to working with you all next academic year as you represent the student body. A massive thank you to all the candidates who campaigned through incredibly challenging circumstances. This year has been our first fully online NUSU Student Elections and this has made campaigning very different to previous years. We know how much effort, commitment and creativity the candidates put into their campaigns.

If you want to re-live the moment the results were announced, you can watch back Student Media’s amazing coverage of Results Night here. Plus find out more about your winners and all of the candidates here.

We are still looking to complete the 2021/22 NUSU Officer team as we will be electing to the Marginalised Genders Officer (voluntary Liberation Officer position) role through May’s meeting of NUSU Student Council. Please click here for more information on how to put yourself forward.

Watch the Results Voting Stats Results Breakdown

Total Voters


Money Raised


Technical Difficulties

From 7:45 am until 9.30 am on 4 March 2021 the NUSU website, including the facility to vote in the NUSU Student Elections, experienced downtime, this was due to our hosts IP address being targeted by a Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack that took place throughout the day.

Following the initial attack, the website went down again between 11.30 am and 1.30 pm. Following the second attack, we started the process of being migrated to a different IP address. After each of the significant periods of website outage, to ensure that voters still had the same period of time to vote on each occasion the voting was extended by two hours (initially to 2 pm and then again to 4 pm).

On both occasions, the candidates were informed by email of the extension to the voting period as soon as it was made. Following the migration, we are aware of some slight disruption on some devices during the final two hours of voting. To minimise disruption throughout both IP addresses were left active until the change was confirmed to have been completed.

We are confident that all students who wanted to vote had the opportunity to do so and we strongly believe that this did not affect the integrity of the election. As this was just a DDoS attack there was no risk or breach of data of any kind. This was not targeted directly at NUSU as there are a few sites hosted on the same IP.

Watch the Debates

Tune in live with NUTV as special moderators (including the current Sabbs) question the Officer candidates as they debate for your vote. Join in and send in your questions on the live chat. #NUSUDebates2021


Education Officer Debate
Mon 22nd Feb, 7pm


Postgraduate Officer Debate
Mon 22nd Feb, 8pm


Welfare & Equality Officer Debate
Tue 23rd Feb, 7pm


Editor of the Courier Debate
Tue 23rd Feb, 8pm


Athletic Union Officer Debate
Wed 24th Feb, 7pm


Activities Officer Debate
Wed 24th Feb, 8pm


President Debate
Fri 26th Feb, 7pm


Candidate Resources

From helpful guides, to key dates, stay up-to-date & supported as a candidate.

Candidate Resources