Our team of 7 full-time Sabbatical Officers have been elected to represent you on all aspects of your University experience. The Officers lead the Students' Union's political direction, run campaigns on your behalf and hold the university to account on decisions which affect students. Every student is eligible to run for one of our full-time officer roles in the Spring Elections here at NUSU. 


Katie Smyth
Education Officer
Pablo Charro de Fuente
Postgraduate Officer
Karina Sorrels
Welfare & Equality Officer
Sara Elkhawad
Activities Officer
Eleanor Killner
Athletic Union Officer
Joe Gubbins
Editor of the Courier
Grace Dean


Our team of 8 Liberation Officers have been elected to represent different student groups across campus. All of our Liberation officers are volunteers and will be working throughout the year to improve the student experience for the group they represent.


Marginalised Genders Officer
Eleasha Haslam
LGBT+ Officer
Tobias Lawrence
Racial Equality Officer
Rabeeyah Cheema
Disability Officer
Georgia Corbett
International Students' Officer 
Chinyere Emeka
Students with Faith or 
Belief Officer

Christopher Winter
Student Parents, Guardians
& Carers Officer 

Amani Alrossies
Commuting Students' Officer
Sian Dickie


Our 2 Chairs have very unique roles within NUSU, chairing Student Council and the Scrutiny Committee. These two volunteer roles work hand in hand to ensure that the voice of our students are being heard, disciplinary procedures are being followed and ensuring that NUSU runs smoothly.


Chair of Council
Stephen Dawes
Chair of Scrutiny
Alice Fish